Management Board.

The composition of the Management Board is shown below, together with the managers' functions, their nationality and the year they were first appointed to the Board.

This section also contains details about their career and education, year of birth, other activities and interests, such as directorships at major companies, organisations and foundations, permanent roles in significant interest groups and official offices and political mandates.

Andreas Meyer (1961)

CEO (since 2007)

Lic. iur., lawyer; MBA from INSEAD Fontainebleau (France); previously held the posts of legal counsel/project manager at ABB Schweiz, Baden, and managing director of Babcock Rohrleitungsbau GmbH, Oberhausen/Bitterfeld (Germany); most recently at Deutsche BahnAG, where he headed DB Stadtverkehr GmbH and was a member of the Board of Management of DB Personenverkehr GmbH as well as of the Group Executive Board of Deutsche Bahn AG.

Philippe Gauderon (1955)

Head of Infrastructure (since 2009)

Lic. iur., lawyer. Latterly Head of Operating and Deputy Head of the Passenger Division. With SBB since 1996. Previously Deputy Director of the Federal Office of Transport (FOT).

Other directorships and other mandates:

  • ÖBB-Infrastruktur AG, Vienna, Member of the Supervisory Board
  • BLS Netz AG, Bern

Anton Häne (1955)

Head of Passenger Division (since 2018)

Board of Directors and other mandates:

  • RailAway and Zentralbahn, President of the Board of Directors
  • ch-direct, President of the Passenger Transport Market Commission (KMP)
  • SBB Pension Fund, member of the Board of Trustees
  • Reka, member of the Board of Directors

Nicolas Perrin (1959)

Head of Freight (since 2008)

Degree in structural engineering from ETH Zurich. Previously Head of the International business unit and deputy Head of Division (SBB Cargo AG). From August 2007 acting head of SBB Cargo. With SBB since 1987.

Jürg Stöckli (1969)

Head of Real Estate (since 2010)

Lic. iur., solicitor, Executive MBA University of St. Gallen. Latterly Chief Operating Officer of Privera AG. Prior to 2007: Head of Legal and Procurement and member of the Management Board of SBB Real Estate.

Christoph Hammer (1970)

CFO (since 2017)

Graduate in Business Economics from a business administration college. Christoph Hammer was most recently Head of Group Controlling at Hilti, an international tool manufacturer. Prior to this, he was CFO for the northern Europe region and Hilti United Kingdom as well as CFO for Hilti Switzerland.

Markus Jordi (1961)

Head of HR (since 2007)

Lic. iur. Previously Head of Human Resources (Switzerland) and member of senior management at Basler Versicherungen, and from 2006 Head of Corporate Human Resources at Bâloise Holding.

Kathrin Amacker (1962)

Head of Communication & Public Affairs (since 2013)

Dr. phil. II. Kathrin Amacker was previously Head of Group Communications at Swisscom and a member of the telecommunication company's Management Board. Prior to that she worked at Novartis, where her various roles included Project Manager in technical areas and in Human Resources Management. Furthermore, she was engaged in employee relations and active on a political level, e.g. as a member of the National Council for the CVP.

Peter Kummer (1965)

Head of Information Technology and Chief Information Officer (since 2009)

Lic. rer. pol (business management and information technology) degree from the University of Berne. With SBB since 2007 as Chief IT Architect for the Architecture & Quality unit. As a senior management member, Mr Kummer was previously responsible for business architecture at the Swiss insurance and pensions company Mobiliar.

Other activities and outside interests.

By virtue of their functions, the members of the Management Board are active on the Boards of Directors of various SBB subsidiaries and affiliates. Their activities on management and supervisory boards are listed under the individual members of the Board of Directors.

Management contracts.

As at the cut-off date (31 December 2010) neither SBB nor its Group companies had any management contracts with companies or individuals outside of the Group.

Organisation and duties of the Management Board.

The Management Board consists of the CEO, the Heads of the Passenger, Freight, Infrastructure and Real Estate Divisions and the Heads of the Group-level units HR, Finance, Communication and IT.

The CEO chairs the Management Board and is responsible to the Board of Directors for the company’s overall performance. The members of the Management Board report to him. The
CEO also directly manages the Heads of the Group-level units (Corporate Development, Safety and the Corporate Legal Service). The internal audit unit reports directly to the Chairman of the Board of Directors.

At the request of the CEO, the Board of Directors – as part of the revision of the Organisation Rules undertaken in 2010 – formulate the mechanisms by which resolutions are passed by
the corporate bodies: resolutions by the Management Board and the divisions must be passed by the body as a whole. This takes proper account of the business model, involves the special management functions and facilitates cultural change.

The Management Board conducts all SBB business that is not
the preserve of the Board of Directors by virtue of the Organisation Rules. For its part, the Management Board has enacted rules (Rules of Procedure and Terms of Reference) delegating some of its duties to the divisions and Group-level units.

The Management Board generally meets every two weeks. Other executives and specialists are called in as required.

Management Board resolutions are passed by a majority of votes. In the event of a tie, the CEO has the casting vote. The CEO informs the Chairman of the Board of Directors of any items in which he has been outvoted by the Management Board as a whole. Should a Management Board resolution passed on a major issue contradict the view of the responsible Management Board member, the latter has the right, together with the CEO, to present the resolution to the Chairman of the Board of Directors. In such cases, the Chairman of the Board of Directors shall have the final say, provided the matter is within the area of responsibility of the Board of Directors.

Minutes are kept of the deliberations of the Management Board in which the resolutions are recorded. Each member of the Management Board is entitled to have any position recorded in the minutes that differs from the resolution passed. The minutes are signed by the CEO and the minutes secretary. They must be approved by the Management Board. The Chairman of the Board of Directors receives the invitations to the meetings and a copy of the minutes.

Further content

Further information.